Council and Appointed Positions

The Winnipeg Centre of the Royal Astronomical Society of Canada is governed by an elected Council consisting of a President, Vice-President, Secretary, Treasurer, and 5 Councillors. In addition to the elected Council, every year the Council, once elections are concluded, appoint Centre members to non-voting appointed positions consisting of a National Representative, a Spruce Woods Star Party Organizer, a Newsletter Editor, a Webmaster, a Membership Coordinator, a Observatory Director, and an Education Coordinator. Past-President is a non-voting role occupied by the immediate past President of the Centre to provide continuity. Similarly, Councillor positions are staggered to also assist in providing continuity on Council.

Current members of Council are as follows. Click on the member name to send an email.

Council Position Name
President Dennis Lyons
Vice-President Judy Anderson
Secretary Scott Young
Treasurer Mark Irvine
Past President Bryan Stach
Councillor Stan Runge
Councillor gAIL Wise
Councillor Daemon Nightshade
Councillor Marc Sarrasin
Councillor Wing Kwong
Councillor Michelle Boyce

Kamala Kodi


Ed Wright

Appointed Positions Name
National Representative Dennis Lyons
Newsletter Editor Scott Young
Webmasters Marc Sarrasin
Membership Coordinator Marc Sarrasin / Jay Anderson
Communications Officer Ed Wright
Nominating Committee Chair Bryan Stach
Finance Committee Chair Mark Irvine
Observatory Committee Chair Michelle Boyce
Loaner Scope Coordinator Mike Karakas
Education Coordinator (Interim) Judy Anderson

Spruce Woods Star Party Organizer

Daemon Nightshade